About Te Piringa - Faculty of Law

A modern Law Faculty

Naumai, Haere Mai ki Te Piringa, te wāhanga ture o Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato. Welcome to Te Piringa Faculty of Law at the University of Waikato.

Founded in 1991, Te Piringa Faculty of Law is one of New Zealand / Aotearoa’s leading law schools, and is consistently ranked highly internationally and nationally. The Faculty was established upon three core principles: professionalism, biculturalism, and the study of law in context. These founding principles continue to be deeply embedded throughout all our Law programmes, and equip our graduates with a unique and powerful set of skills and strengths. Our students are given the very best grounding in the law, along with a deep understanding of professionalism, biculturalism, and a study of how the law operates in the wider context. Our highly sought after graduates are fully prepared for the complete range of legal and other opportunities – both in Aotearoa / New Zealand as well as abroad.

Read full Dean's Welcome »

The Bachelor of Laws (LLB) degree is recognised for professional purposes by the Council of Legal Education and its standards are moderated by the Council and by external assessment among the New Zealand law schools. In its compulsory papers the Waikato programme goes beyond the minimum core requirements of the Council of Legal Education. The syllabus of the LLB is regularly reviewed and updated to provide you with grater choice of elective subjects.

Undergraduate study options

We also offer a wide array of postgraduate degree programmes that are taught through small seminars or by supervised research.

Postgraduate study options