Queen’s Birthday Honours 2022

8 June 2022

Professor Ian Hawes

University of Waikato Vice-Chancellor, Professor Neil Quigley, is pleased to share that Professor Ian Hawes, along with eight alumni, an Honorary Doctor and a former Waikato staff member have been recognised for their achievements and community contributions in the 2022 Queen’s Birthday and Platinum Jubilee Honours list.

New Zealand Antarctic Medal

Professor Hawes, who is based at our Tauranga campus, received the New Zealand Antarctic Medal for services to Antarctic science and conservation. Professor Hawes was recognised for the significant contribution he has made to research and knowledge of freshwater ecosystems in both New Zealand and Antarctica.

The Order of New Zealand

The Honourable Dame Silvia Cartwright, who received a University of Waikato Honorary Doctorate in 1994, was acknowledged with the highest honour in this year’s awards, as an Additional Member of the Order of New Zealand. Dame Silvia dedicated more than 40 years to the law and was the first woman in New Zealand appointed to the High Court in 1993.

Dame Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit

Dr Judith McGregor, who received a Distinguished Alumni Award from the University in 2009, was named a Dame Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to human rights and health. Dame Judy was recognised for her research in identifying critical issues including women’s rights, equal pay, child poverty and the over-imprisonment of Māori. Dame Judy graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in 1970.

Officers of the New Zealand Order of Merit

Dr Anne Robertson (GradDipAppEth 2000) was recognised for services to sexual health. Dr Robertson has supported the sustainability of sexual health and sexual assault services. She focused on developing innovative ways to keep the services client-focused and relevant in changing times.

Ms Bub (Hera) White (BA 1981, MBA 1996) was acknowledged for services to Māori and tertiary education. Ms White worked to improve the success of Māori learners in tertiary education from 1985 until her retirement in 2021.

Members of the New Zealand Order of Merit 

Mrs Adrienne Dalton, JP (DipEd 1972, BEd 1973) was recognised for services to conservation and youth. Mrs Dalton co-established Te Whāngai Trust in 2007 as a social enterprise, which to-date has supported about 800 New Zealanders from challenging backgrounds to upskill with career opportunities supporting nature.

Dr Beverley James (BSocSc 1975, MSocSc 1978, PhD 1985) was acknowledged for services to seniors. Dr James has more than 30 years’ experience in social research, evaluation, policy analysis and service design.

Mr Walter Ngakoma Ngamane (BEd, DipT 2000) was celebrated for services to Māori and tourism. Mr Ngamane has been Chairman of Ngāti Maru Runanga Trust since 1999 and a Trustee and Chairman since 2001 of Matai Whetu Marae.

Mrs Emma Twigg (BCS 2011) was acknowledged for services to rowing. Mrs Twigg competed in four Olympic Games and won Gold in the Women’s Single Scull event at the Tokyo Olympics. In 2014 she was crowned World Champion and, the same year, named as World Rowing’s Female Rower of the Year.

The Queen’s Service Medal

Mr William Anderson (Te Ihingarangi-Maniapoto, Ngāti Porou), a former University of Waikato staff member, was acknowledged for services to Māori education and the community. He has contributed 50 years to Māori education, Te Tiriti o Waitangi and Narrative Mediation through Kaupapa Māori-based principles of Manaakitanga.

Mrs Pushpa Prasad (PGDip 2012) was acknowledged for services to the community. Mrs Prasad formed the Multicultural Indian Society in 1999 after noticing young children were starting to lose their mother tongue, culture and traditions.

Professor Quigley says it is wonderful to see so many people who have a relationship with Waikato being recognised for the contributions they have made in their communities and society over many years.

"In particular, please join me in wishing Professor Ian Hawes a heartfelt congratulations for receiving the New Zealand Antarctic Medal. This is an extremely high honour and one that reflects the significant contribution he has made to research in Antarctica and New Zealand over his career."

This research aligns with the following United Nations Sustainable Development Goals:

Quality Education Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions Partnerships for the goals

Latest stories

Related stories

Matariki stargazing in Hamilton

Celebrating Matariki at Waikato

The University of Waikato has celebrated Matariki with a number of public and staff events…

Anchal Sharma

Student leaders get a head start on University

Year 13 students from across the Waikato and Bay of Plenty came together last week…

Blue/Green Tech Lab opens in Tauranga

Tech week – New Zealand’s festival of technology and innovation – kicked off in Tauranga…

Evaluating the morality of actions found to be culturally universal

Do people from distinct cultural groups use similar strategies when faced with moral judgements?

Disapproving of corruption doesn’t prevent corrupt behaviour

At a cost of around US$2.6 trillion per year, or 5% of global GDP, corruption…

Psychologists urged to do more on climate change

Psychologists should be doing more to mitigate the health effects of climate change, according to…

Growing sea lettuce on land a key to improving New Zealand’s water quality

Sea lettuce that appears in New Zealand harbours every summer causing a stink as it…

Summer research projects inspire students

Whoever thinks research is a dull and lonely occupation has got it wrong, says psychology…

Professor Taciano Milfont

Waikato appoints three new Professors

University of Waikato Vice-Chancellor Professor Neil Quigley has announced promotion to Professor for three academics,…

Cushla Foe

Ready and raring to go

Cushla Foe was working in retail in Queensland when she decided she was ready for…

PhD student

University of Waikato researchers to lead seaweed farming trials in Hauraki Gulf and Bay of Plenty

University of Waikato researchers’ Dr Marie Magnusson and Dr Rebecca Lawton will receive $1.2 million…

Waikato Management School

Waikato Management School Ranked #1 in New Zealand

The University of Waikato Management School has been ranked number one in New Zealand for…