National Māori Academic Excellence Awards 2005

On 2 December 2005, the University of Waikato was again honoured to host the Māori Academic Excellence Awards, held at the Kingsgate Hotel, Te Rapa - Hamilton.

The criterion for the award is the conferment of a Doctoral qualification from any New Zealand tertiary institution within the period 31 July 2004 to 31 July 2005, and at this year’s celebration, twenty eight award recipients were recognised with representation from Waikato, Massey, Victoria, Canterbury, Auckland, and Otago Universities.

The event was very well attended, and MCs Moana Maniapoto and Julian Wilcox kept the formal proceedings running smoothly.

Representatives of the major sponsors - Tertiary Education Commission, Waikato Raupatu Lands Trust, NIWA, Te Ohu Kaimoana, Te Puni Kokiri, and Te Taura Whiri i te Reo were on hand to present the awards to deserving recipients.

Indeed the entertainment also canvassed dimensions of excellence from other disciplines. The rangatahi from XMA Xtreme Martial Arts delivered a high-energy demonstration, exponents from Rangimarie kapa haka were inspirational in their performance, and the Auckland-based band Allegro provided the entertainment late into the evening.

The evening was also an opportunity to honour the lifetime achievements of Morehu Te Whare – whose award was presented by Te Arikinui Te Atairangikaahu.

Indeed the event was a highlight of the Māori academic calendar, and with the numbers of Māori enrolling and graduating at PhD level increasing, the trend of recognition and celebration looks set to continue well into the future.

Nā reira tēnā koutou te hunga kua kai i te miro o te mātauranga, kua kake atu ki ngā rangi tūhāhā ki te Toi-o-ngā-rangi ki ngā kete o te wānanga, kua ruku ki tau-o-te-wai ki ngā pōhatu-ngangana o te māramatanga. Tēnā tātou katoa.

National Māori Academic Excellence Awards Recipients 2005

The University of Auckand
Dr Brett Graham
Dr Kirsten Hana
Dr Robert Webb
Dr Nicola Poa
Dr Michelle Mills
Dr Nigel Yee
Dr Diane Divett
Dr Daniel Hikuroa
Dr Lynette Carter
Dr Richard Cooper
Dr Adreanne Ormond
The University of Canterbury
Dr Angela Wanhall
Dr Glen Thompson
Dr Maxine Bryant
Massey University
Dr Elisabeth Ellison-Loschmann
Dr Heather Gifford
Dr Sharon Henare
Dr Paul Hirini
Dr Kara Mihaere
Dr Denise Wilson
University of Otago
Dr Poia Rewi
Dr James Patterson
Dr Phillipa Pehi
The University of Victoria
Dr Eli Morgan Mrkusich
The University of Waikato
Dr Brennan Allen
Dr David Phillips
Dr Jared Loader
Dr Ngaere Roberts


NMAEA recipients 2006
National Māori Academic Excellence Awards recipients 2005


Click below to view more images of the evening :


Honoured Guests