National Māori Academic Excellence Awards

Friday 29th April 2011

‘Hold firmly to the paddle of the canoe to ensure that the education of Māori moves rapidly forward’

On Friday the 29th of April the Te Amorangi National Māori Academic Excellence Awards were held at Tūrangawaewae marae in Ngāruawāhia to recognise, acknowledge and celebrate our most recent PhD graduates of Māori descent from across the world.

The awards were first established in 2002 under the mantle of then Dean of the School of Māori and Pacific Development Sir Tāmati Reedy.  From that time time to present day over three hundred Māori PhD graduates have received a Te Amorangi award from across multiple disciplines ackonwledging them as experts in their chosen field of research.

Every year a special award entiltled ‘Te Tohu Whakamaharatanga ki a Te Arikinui Te Atairangikaahu’  the Lifetime Recipient Award is given to an outstanding individual who has worked tirelessly and made significant contributions to their iwi and te ao Māori as a whole.  The recipient of this award is chosen by Kiingi Tuheitia and this year went to the Chief Exceutive Officer of Te Wānanga o Aotearoa.
There were a total of 50 recipients who were acknowledged on the night.

Pāwhiritia tēnei hei pānui i roto i Te Reo Māori