Our People

External enquiries are welcome through our contact form, via email or phone (07) 838 4166; alternatively, please contact one of our Research/Business Development Managers.

UOW researchers, please contact your Research Management Advisor in the first instance.

Research & Enterprise central location: Ground floor, B Block, Gate 5, Hillcrest Road, Hamilton

Leadership Team

Prof Bruce Clarkson, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research
Dr Simon Lovatt, Director, Research & Enterprise

Research & Business Development Managers

Shane Stuart (Science and technology in the Bay of Plenty region), based in Tauranga
Dr John Tyrrell (Environment and Biological Industries)
Brian Cole, Project Manager (Science & Engineering/Computer & Mathematical Sciences)

Research Management Advisors

Anthea Kivell (Science & Engineering, Management)
Carol Robinson (Science & Engineering, Computing & Mathematical Sciences)
Bridget Holland (Health, Computing & Mathematical Sciences)
Nadine Viljoen (Education, Health, Carbon Dating)
Jenny Robertson (Arts, Law, Psychology, Social Sciences, Māori & Indigenous Studies, Te Kotahi Research Institute)
Natasha Mutyambizi (Law, Management)
Paul Westerbeke (Central)
Dr Nicola Win, Research Grant Application Writer (University-wide)

Contracts and IP Staff

Suzanne Guilford, Contracts Officer (Education; Arts, Law, Psychology & Social Sciences; Māori & Indigenous Studies; Te Kotahi Research Institute; Management)
Dr Roslyn Murray, IP Manager, Enterprise/WaikatoLink
Stephen Turner, Contracts Officer (Science & Engineering; Computing & Mathematical Sciences; Health)

Central, WaikatoLink, and Allied Staff

Lois Vuursteen, Executive Assistant, Research, and central contact person for Ethics
Jane Burnett, Administration Assistant, Enterprise/WaikatoLink
Adrienne Anderson, PBRF and Research Information Systems Manager, and central contact person for PBRF
Dr Belinda Sleight, Director, University of Waikato Napier Centre
Matthew McMahon, General Manager Commercial, Enterprise/WaikatoLink
Frances Oliver, General Manager Finance, Enterprise/WaikatoLink
Anton Steiner, Business Analyst, Enterprise/WaikatoLink
Dr Anna Henning, Commercialisation Specialist, Enterprise/Waikatolink
Douglas Hillyer, Commercialisation Specialist, Enterprise/Waikatolink
Shlok Kant, Commercialisation Specialist, Enterprise/Waikatolink
Dr Trevor Drage, Associate Dean – Global Engagement and Partnerships, International Office
Dr James Hutchinson, CEO – KiwiNet