Bay of Plenty Regional Bus Services

The University of Waikato is trialling FREE regional bus services to bring students from Katikati, Rotorua and Whakatāne to the University's Tauranga CBD campus in 2020.

Bus routes and timetables

The bus services are continuous and will travel Monday to Friday from 1 February 2020 to 20 December 2020 (including study weeks, exam weeks and teaching recess, but not including statutory holidays).

These regional bus services are a partnership between the University, Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology and the Bay of Plenty Regional Council, and will be trialled for 2020.


The bus will run from Ōhope through to Whakatāne, Awakeri, Edgecumbe and Matatā before arriving in Tauranga's CBD at approximately 8.30 am, and will depart just after 5 pm daily.

101 Whakatāne to Tauranga


The bus will run from the Toi Ohomai Mokoia campus in Rotorua taking the route SH5, SH36, SH29a with selected stops to Tauranga city. It will arrive in Tauranga's CBD before 9 am and depart just after 5 pm daily.

102 Rotorua to Tauranga


The bus will run from the Katikati township with selected stops along State Highway 2 from Katikati through to Bethlehem and on to the city. It will arrive in Tauranga before 9 am and depart just after 5 pm daily.

103 Katikati to Tauranga


The Bay of Plenty regional bus service is FREE for University of Waikato students. Simply show your valid student ID on board to access the service free of charge. The service is also available to the public at a cost.

For more information

If you need more information about the regional bus services to the Tauranga campus, please email [email protected].