University of Waikato Hockey Club

The University of Waikato Hockey Club is the largest hockey club in the Waikato, boasting a total of eight teams, ranging from premier through to social teams for both men and women. Both tertiary students and community members (non-students) are able to join.

The premier men’s and women’s teams compete in three championship competitions annually; the Waikato Hockey 9 a-side Championships, the Waikato Hockey Premier Championships and the Midlands Inter-City Club Championships. Alongside the premier teams, the University of Waikato Hockey Club also has six other lower grade (more social) teams.

Waikato University HC Musters 2024

Location: Gallagher Hockey Centre, 0 Queens Avenue, Frankton Hamilton

Online registration link for New and Returning players

Friday 17th February: Water 1

6pm Women’s trials

7pm Men’s trials

Saturday 25th February 4-5:30 pm

Women on Water 1

Men of Water 2

Note: Arrive 30 min before your trial slot: Register, if you have not done it online earlier and warm up. If you have any questions please contact Club President Jamie Guthrie @ 0272447469 or

Contacts: |

More Information: Website | Facebook |

Draws and Results


Mount Maunganui Club

More Information: Website | Facebook

Otumoetai Hockey Club

More Information: Website | Facebook

Omanu Beach Hockey Club

More information: Facebook

UTSNZ Hockey

Join Team Waikato and represent the University of Waikato at the University and Tertiary Sport NZ (UTSNZ) National Tertiary Hockey Championships which take place in July every year.

High Performance

The University of Waikato works in partnership with Midlands Hockey to support talented hockey players. Find out how the University provides athlete support.