Ask Me Anything sessions: M-F 9–10 am, 3–4 pm | Guidance for running end-of-trimester exam-replacement tests


Teaching Excellence Awards

The Centre for Tertiary Teaching and Learning congratulates Associate Professor Kirstine Moffat on her 2020 Ako Aotearoa National Tertiary Teaching Excellence Award.  The $20,000 award highlights sustained excellence in tertiary teaching and learning.  Congratulations, Kirstine!

Here at the Centre for Tertiary Teaching and Learning, we provide support for academic staff nominated for divisional inclusive of eLearning excellence, university, and, national tertiary teaching excellence awards.

This support is usually in relation to preparing a teaching portfolio.

Divisional Teaching Excellence Award

The Divisional Teaching Excellence Award is held annually; it recognises the contributions of staff to teaching excellence as nominated by students and colleagues.

Make a nomination now

The Nola Campbell Memorial Award for eLearning Excellence

This award recognises outstanding contributions of staff to teaching excellence and student learning through eLearning and Technology Enhanced Learning.

Make a nomination now

University Staff Award for Teaching Excellence

2020 key dates

  • University award nominations open - 4 September
  • Nomination deadline - 23 October
  • Committee/selection panel meets - 3 November
  • Award recipients and unsuccessful nominees will be advised as soon as possible following the selection meeting and approval by the Vice-Chancellor
  • 2020 Awards presentation ceremony - 10 December

Ako Aotearoa Award

Every year, up to 10 of New Zealand's top teachers are celebrated at the National Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards (NTTEA), hosted by the Minister of Education.

The NTTEA is held annually by Ako Aotearoa: National Centre for Teaching Excellence. Those successful at the Divisional Teaching Excellence Awards, and, University of Waikato Staff Awards for Teaching Excellence will be considered to be nominated by the University of Waikato for NTTEA.