The University of Waikato Academic Board

The Academic Board is established as a committee of the Council under the provisions of Schedule 11 s.18(2) of the Education and Training Act 2020 to advise the Council on matters relating to courses of study or training, awards and other academic matters, and to exercise powers delegated to it by the Council. These powers, defined in detailed terms of reference, are delegated by the Council under the provisions of s.283(1) of the Education and Training Act 2020.

The Academic Board is currently made up of 69 members, as outlined in the constitution.

The Academic Board is chaired by the University Vice-Chancellor, Professor Neil Quigley.

2023 Schedule of Meetings

The Academic Board is scheduled to meet at 2.10pm on the following dates in 2023:

  • Tuesday 14 March
  • Wednesday 26 April
  • Thursday 27 July
  • Thursday 28 September
  • Wednesday 6 December

Meetings are held in The Pā. Any students or members of the public who wish to attend should contact Tim O'Brien prior to the meeting to arrange the necessary access.  Any changes to this schedule and any special meetings are notified through this webpage.

Minutes of Previous Meetings

The minutes of previous meetings of the Academic Board are available through this webpage:

Documents referred to in agenda and minutes are available on request from Tim O'Brien, Secretary to Academic Board.