Welcome to the Waikato Public Law and Policy Research Unit established in 2018 and hosted by Te Piringa Faculty of Law at the University of Waikato.

Te Piringa – Faculty of Law at the University of Waikato has an established tradition of outstanding scholarship in Public Law and Policy as demonstrated by the contributions of the Faculty’s founding Dean, Professor Margaret Wilson, and the late Professor Sir Grant Hammond.

Today a significant number of Faculty members continue to have research interests in these fields focused on the Faculty’s founding principles of professionalism, biculturalism, and the study of law in context.

Current work in the Faculty covers a wide range of common law jurisdictions, in addition to New Zealand and Pacific Island states, and extends from constitutional and administrative law and theory to giving effect to the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi and Māori and indigenous governance.