Council welcomes Management alumna

24 September 2021

Meleane Burgess

The University of Waikato Council has welcomed well-known Waikato leader and independent director, Meleane Burgess, as a new member. Meleane’s appointment has been made by the Minister of Education, Chris Hipkins, and is for a term of four years.

Meleane is Managing Director of Dynamic Advisory Limited. She is an alumna of Te Raupapa - Waikato Management School, completing a Bachelor of Management Studies in 2011, and has extensive governance and financial experience.

She is a Chartered Member of both the NZ Institute of Directors and Governance New Zealand, and her governance experience extends across public, private and not for profit sectors.

Her governance roles include Independent Director of Public Trust, Chair of the Board of Trustees for Hillcrest High School, member of the Pacific Reference Group for the Ministry of Social Development, Trustee on the Anglican Action Board and Trustee of Te Tamawai Trust. Meleane is also the founder of the Waikato Pacific Business Network.

University of Waikato Chancellor, Sir Anand Satyanand, says Meleane is a highly respected leader with a diverse range of experience to offer the University.

“We look forward to welcoming Meleane back to her alma mater and working with her as we continue on our recovery journey from the ongoing impacts of Covid-19 and the rapidly changing tertiary education environment,” says Sir Anand.

Meleane’s appointment means that Margaret Devlin has now completed her term as a Ministerial appointee to Council. “Margaret has provided a significant and meaningful contribution to Council and University life over the past four years, and we thank her for her service,” says Sir Anand.

Minister Hipkins has also extended the term of Council member Graeme Milne for a further four years.

Latest stories

Related stories

Professor Taciano Milfont

Waikato appoints three new Professors

University of Waikato Vice-Chancellor Professor Neil Quigley has announced promotion to Professor for three academics,…


Alumna thrilled about success of pilot programme for people with disabilities

University of Waikato alumna Dr Bev Gatenby has a love for people and community, an…

Le Mamea Taulapapa Sefulu Isaia Ioane

Passing of Distinguished Alumnus and educationalist

The University of Waikato acknowledges the passing of Distinguished Alumnus Le Mamea Taulapapa Sefulu Isaia…

Huy Vu

A rare gem

Obituary: Huy Tien Vu

University alumni and honorary staff recognised in New Year's Honours

A total of seven University of Waikato alumni, plus an adjunct professor, have been named…


Engineering grad learning the ropes at Fonterra

Tairongo Tuhiwai says Waikato set him up well for an engineering career.


Adventures, business and lessons from lockdown

Catching up with Distinguished Alumnus Jamie Fitzgerald.


Engineering for Samoa's renewable energy efforts

Before he had even started university study, Tiotio Lockington knew he wanted to contribute to…

Steve Hodgkinson

Alumnus working at the forefront of new immunity support against Covid-19

University of Waikato alumnus Dr Steve Hodgkinson is CEO at RuaTech where he is part…


Law alumna helps protect constitutional law

The University of Waikato alumnus and Supreme Court Justice of Samoa, Leilani Tuala-Warren, considers her…

Priya profile

Good and meaningful work

University of Waikato alumna, Dr Sripriya Somasekha, received a Public Service Award acknowledging her work…


Sir William and Lady Judi Gallagher announce further support for University of Waikato with new scholarship

Hamilton philanthropists Sir William and Lady Judi Gallagher will fund eight new scholarships a year…