University of Waikato thanks donors for their ongoing support

18 July 2022

L - R: Emma Dearlove, Elise McKenzie, Mike Wootton (Gallagher Group), Sam Scott, Kahl Betham (Gallagher Group), Ella Cooper-Levin, Shermi Perera, Grace McCarthy-Sinclair and Zoe Chaves.

The University of Waikato Foundation - Te Pou Taunaki welcomed donors to the Hamilton campus for the second annual Donor Day in July.

Donor Day was held at the Gallagher Academy of Performing Arts to thank donors for their ongoing support and to show them the impact of their support on the University and students. Donors were treated to presentations from five University of Waikato researchers involved in world-leading work on antibiotics, linguistics, concussions, violence in prisons and the circular economy.

Director of Development Peta Goldsworthy says the University community enjoys putting aside a day to recognise and thank its wide range of supporters.

“It’s important to have the opportunity to thank our supporters in-person and showcase to them the talent within the University. Our donors are well-connected in their communities and we know they take pride in telling others about the achievements of the University.”

The event was also an opportunity for current scholarship recipients to thank those who have supported their scholarships.

Kahl Betham, Gallagher Group CEO, is proud to be involved with the University of Waikato.

“It’s great to meet the scholarship recipients and be able to understand the capability of the students coming through. It’s going to help the Waikato become an even stronger economic force going forward.”

Gallagher Group Engineering and Management Scholarship recipients Zoe Chaves and Emma Dearlove, along with many other scholarship recipients, were pleased to be able to meet the donors and thank them in person.

Zoe, who is in her third year of a Bachelor of Engineering, says the scholarship has helped reduce stress in achieving her dream of becoming an engineer.

“I’m grateful that I have been able to meet with the team from Gallagher today and thank them for the scholarship. Having their financial support means I don’t have to work so much and can focus on my studies.”

Emma, who is a third-year Bachelor of Management Studies student, echoed that.

“I’m very thankful for the opportunities that this scholarship has given me, especially getting to meet Kahl and Mike from Gallagher Group. It inspires me to keep going and shows that my hard work is paying off.”

The University of Waikato Foundation - Te Pou Taunaki is an independent charitable trust which receives and distributes donations on behalf of the University.

There are many ways that people can support the University. Every single dollar raised goes towards helping students achieve their potential and maximise the economic and social impacts of the University.

L-R: Karin Bryan, Director of Development Peta Goldsworthy and Emeritus Professor Janis Swan; Dame Malvina Major with Armon Tamatea and Gregor Mordini.

L-R: James French and Chloe Lowe from TOMRA Fresh Food with scholarship recipient Courtney Wilson; Andreea Calude.

L-R: Frances Cowan; Joy Harding with Pamela Bird.

L-R: Joanna Hicks with Anne Wilson and Margaret Barbour; Dame Malvina Major Chair of Opera, Madeleine Pierard, with Dame Malvina Major herself and David Jackson.

Latest stories

Related stories

University Council members at The Pā

University Council visits The Pā

University Council members visited the site of The Pā this week.

Scholarship enables students to tackle climate change

First-year Bachelor of Climate Change students Morgan Harris and Georgina Barwood are the inaugural winners…

Scholarship gives University of Waikato nursing student a step up

Second-year nursing student Abigail Arguelles is the inaugural winner of the Braemar Charitable Trust Scholarship…

Waikato’s Health degree the right path for scholarship recipient

Maia Gardiner’s (Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Ngai Te Rangi, Ngāti Kahungunu ki Te Wairoa) goal has always…

Artemis Scholarship supports two worthy students

This year’s Artemis Foundation Scholarship has gone to two recipients; teaching student Lauren Dexter and…

Scholarship empowers women in STEM

Engineering student Isobella Nicholls and Computing and Mathematical Science student Courtney Wilson are the inaugural…


New scholarship honours alumnus and former council member Scott Bartlett

A new scholarship set up by ASB, Kordia and the University of Waikato will provide…


World's first Bachelor of Climate Change degree attracts new scholarships

Tower joins forces with the University of Waikato, offering scholarships to nurture future climate change…


Sir William and Lady Judi Gallagher announce further support for University of Waikato with new scholarship

Hamilton philanthropists Sir William and Lady Judi Gallagher will fund eight new scholarships a year…

Waikato Management School

Waikato Management School Ranked #1 in New Zealand

The University of Waikato Management School has been ranked number one in New Zealand for…


Scholarship appeal aims to help fast-track students to their future

The University of Waikato’s annual appeal for scholarships is set to help propel students into…


Scholarship fast-tracks Leo helping people at risk of cyber attacks

Thanks to scholarship support, current Master of Cyber Security student Leo Oliver-Dowling is well on…