About Te Kura Aronui School of Social Sciences

Te Kura Aronui School of Social Sciences is a vibrant school of expert scholars with a range of exciting and interesting subject study options. The school is comprised of a number of Programmes including, Anthropology, Environmental Planning, Geography, History, Philosophy, Political Science and Public Policy, Sociology and Social Policy. The role of Te Kura Aronui School of Social Sciences is to provide teaching and research in these subject areas. We offer a range of papers in social sciences, at undergraduate, post-graduate and professional training levels.



The motto of the University of Waikato is Ko Te Tangata (“For the People”) and this viewpoint is central to the teaching and research in the School of Social Sciences. We are an intellectually diverse community of scholars and our curriculum covers subjects that will enable you to think critically about how individuals and groups in society relate to each other.

Our international reputation in the following subjects have been ranked in the top 300 of the QS World University Rankings:

  • Geography #151-200
  • Philosophy #201-250
  • Sociology #251-300

Your studies with us are designed to enhance your chosen career as well as the multifaceted communities in which we live. I welcome you to the School and wish you the very best in your endeavors.

Professor Bruce Curtis
Head of School

Have a question? Talk to us

School of Social Sciences

Email: [email protected]

Phone: 0800 800 145

General Enquiries

Email: [email protected]

Phone: 0800 924 5286